All boat operators born on or after January 1, 1978, must complete a boating course approved by the state of Delaware and carry proof of completion (a state-issued card or NASBLA-approved certificate) aboard during operation.
You must complete all 7 lessons in order to receive your certificate of completion.
No one under the age of 14 may operate a PWC under any conditions. This course will not entitle a person under 14 years of age to operate a PWC in Delaware.
A person 14 or 15 years of age, in possession of a boating safety certificate may operate a PWC only if under direct adult supervision. Those operators 16 years of age or older, who hold a boating safety certificate, may operate a PWC without restrictions.
This NASBLA approved Boating Safety Course for Delaware boaters covers everything from Navigation Aids and Emergency Situations to Rules of the Road and Required Equipment. Each of the seven chapters includes a quiz at the end for you to test your knowledge. After reviewing all chapters, you will take a 75 question final exam including 10 questions specific to the boating laws in Delaware. Pass the exam with a score of 80% or better and you will then be able to print your certificate of completion.
Use the worksheets below as a guide to help you take notes as you go through each of the lessons. These worksheets are only meant as a guide and do not replace the course content or quizzes themselves.