All boaters born on or after January 1, 1988 are required to pass an approved boating safety course such as the BoatU.S. Foundation's Free Online Course in order to operate a boat in the state of Florida.
You must PASS all seven lessons before September 23, 2019 in order to receive your certificate of completion. At that time, all incomplete courses will be deleted in order to move to a new system. All certificates of completion will transfer, but course data will not.
This course will not entitle anyone under the age of 14 to operate a PWC in the state of Florida.
After passing the BoatU.S. Foundation's Free Online Boating Safety Course, your free, permanent Boater Education ID Card will be automatically mailed to you within 3-4 weeks. If you do not receive your card after 4 weeks, contact the Florida Fish & Wildlife Conservation Commission at 850-488-5600.
The temporary certificate which you may print after completing the course is valid for 90 days as your temporary proof of boater education.
This NASBLA approved Boating Safety Course for Florida boaters covers everything from Navigation Aids and Emergency Situations to Rules of the Road and Required Equipment. Each of the seven chapters includes a quiz at the end for you to test your knowledge. After reviewing all chapters, you will take a 75 question final exam including 10 questions specific to the boating laws in Florida. Pass the exam with a score of 80% or better and you will then be able to print your certificate of completion.
Use the worksheets below as a guide to help you take notes as you go through each of the lessons. These worksheets are only meant as a guide and do not replace the course content or quizzes themselves.