Operators born on or after January 1, 1988 are required to take a boating safety course such as the BoatU.S. Foundation's Free Online Boating Safety Course in order to operate a motor boat or PWC without direct, adult supervision in the state of Georgia.
You must PASS all seven lessons before September 3, 2019 in order to receive your certificate of completion. At that time, all incomplete courses will be deleted in order to move to a new system. All certificates of completion will transfer, but course data will not.
This course does not entitle persons under 12 years of age to operate any vessel in the state of Georgia without direct supervision by a competent adult.
Plastic boater education cards are now available to order for $13.
Vessel size and horsepower restrictions may also apply to boaters between 12 and 15 years of age. See the Mandatory Education and Age Requirements for Georgia for more information.
This NASBLA approved Boating Safety Course for Georgia boaters covers everything from Navigation Aids and Emergency Situations to Rules of the Road and Required Equipment. Each of the seven chapters includes a quiz at the end for you to test your knowledge. After reviewing all chapters, you will take a 75 question final exam including 10 questions specific to the boating laws in Georgia. Pass the exam with a score of 80% or better and you will then be able to print your certificate of completion.
Use the worksheets below as a guide to help you take notes as you go through each of the lessons. These worksheets are only meant as a guide and do not replace the course content or quizzes themselves.