Although Idaho currently has no mandatory education requirements, the Department of Parks & Recreation recommends taking a boating safety course.
You must PASS all seven lessons in order to receive your certificate of completion.
Certain counties such as Adams, Benewah, Bonner, Kootenai, and Valley have age restrictions for minimum operator age. Please check with the counties and cities in which you plan to boat to familiarize yourself with local requirements.
Order a plastic, wallet-sized Idaho State Boater Card for $13. You can still print your certificate of completion free of charge OR you can order a plastic card for just $13 once you've completed the course. Please allow 3-4 weeks for the delivery of your plastic card.
This NASBLA approved Boating Safety Course for Idaho boaters covers everything from Navigation Aids and Emergency Situations to Rules of the Road and Required Equipment. Each of the seven chapters includes a quiz at the end for you to test your knowledge. After reviewing all chapters, you will take a 75 question final exam including 10 questions specific to the boating laws in Idaho. Pass the exam with a score of 80% or better and you will then be able to print your certificate of completion.
Use the worksheets below as a guide to help you take notes as you go through each of the lessons. These worksheets are only meant as a guide and do not replace the course content or quizzes themselves.