All boaters born on or after January 1, 1984 are required to pass an approved boating safety course such as the BoatU.S. Foundation's Free Online Course.
You must PASS all 7 lessons in order to receive your certificate of completion
After passing this course, you will receive your Louisiana certification card within 3-4 weeks. If you do not receive your card within 4 weeks, call the Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries at 225-765-2989.
This Boating Safety Course for Louisiana boaters covers everything from Navigation Aids and Emergency Situations to Rules of the Road and Required Equipment. Each of the seven chapters includes a quiz at the end for you to test your knowledge. After reviewing all chapters, you will take a 75 question final exam including 10 questions specific to the boating laws in Louisiana. Pass the exam with a score of 80% or better and you will then be able to print your certificate of completion.
Use the worksheets below as a guide to help you take notes as you go through each of the lessons. These worksheets are only meant as a guide and do not replace the course content or quizzes themselves.