The BoatU.S. Foundation's Free Online Course and other internet courses do not meet the Massachusetts Mandatory Education Requirements for boaters under 16 years of age or PWC operators under 18 years of age. You may take the BoatU.S. course as practice or a refresher, but you must take a classroom-based course and pass a proctored exam in order to operate in Massachusetts.
Passing this course will not entitle a person under the age of 16 to operate a PWC on Massachusetts waters. Nor will passing this course authorize a person under the age of 12 to operate a motorboat on Massachusetts waters without a supervising adult aboard. Boaters under 18 will NOT automatically be awarded a certificate upon successful completion of this course.
You must PASS all seven lessons before November 18, 2019 in order to receive your certificate of completion. At that time, all incomplete courses will be deleted in order to move to a new system. All certificates of completion will transfer, but course data will not.
For more information see this state's Boater Education and Horsepower restrictions.
This Boating Safety Course for Massachusetts boaters covers everything from Navigation Aids and Emergency Situations to Rules of the Road and Required Equipment. Each of the seven chapters includes a quiz at the end for you to test your knowledge. After reviewing all chapters, you will take a 75 question final exam including 10 questions specific to the boating laws in Massachusetts. Pass the exam with a score of 80% or better and you will then be able to print your certificate of completion.
Use the worksheets below as a guide to help you take notes as you go through each of the lessons. These worksheets are only meant as a guide and do not replace the course content or quizzes themselves.