The BoatU.S. Foundation's Free Online Course does NOT meet the Michigan Mandatory Education Requirements for boaters under 16 years of age or PWC operators born after December 31, 1978.
You must PASS all seven lessons in order to complete the course.
Any boater may take the BoatU.S. course as practice or a refresher but successful completion of this course will not entitle a person born after December 31, 1978 to operate a PWC on Michigan waters nor will it authorize youth 12 to 15 years of age to operate a motorboat with an engine more than 6 hp.
For more information see this state's Mandatory Education and Age Requirements.
This Boating Safety Course for Michigan boaters covers everything from Navigation Aids and Emergency Situations to Rules of the Road and Required Equipment. Each of the seven chapters includes a quiz at the end for you to test your knowledge. After reviewing all chapters, you will take a 75 question final exam including 10 questions specific to the boating laws in Michigan. Pass the exam with a score of 80% or better and you will then be able to print your certificate of completion.
Use the worksheets below as a guide to help you take notes as you go through each of the lessons. These worksheets are only meant as a guide and do not replace the course content or quizzes themselves.