The BoatU.S. Foundation's Free Online Course does not meet the Minnesota Mandatory Education Requirements for boaters 12 - 17 years of age wishing to operate a boat with motor greater than 25 hp or PWC operators 13 - 17 years of age.
Any boater may take the BoatU.S. course as practice or a refresher.
You must PASS all seven lessons before September 3, 2019 in order to receive your certificate of completion. At that time, all incomplete courses will be deleted in order to move to a new system. All certificates of completion will transfer, but course data will not.
Students under the age of 18 will not be awarded a certificate upon successful completion of this course.
Passing this course will not entitle a person under the age of 13 to operate a PWC on Minnesota waters. Nor will passing this course authroize a person under the age of 12 to operate a motoboat with a motor greater than 25 hp on Minnesota waters withouta supervising adult aboard.
For more information see this state's Boater Education, Age and Horsepower restrictions.
This Boating Safety Course for Minnesota boaters covers everything from Navigation Aids and Emergency Situations to Rules of the Road and Required Equipment. Each of the seven chapters includes a quiz at the end for you to test your knowledge. After reviewing all chapters, you will take a 75 question final exam including 10 questions specific to the boating laws in Minnesota. Pass the exam with a score of 80% or better and you will then be able to print your certificate of completion.
Use the worksheets below as a guide to help you take notes as you go through each of the lessons. These worksheets are only meant as a guide and do not replace the course content or quizzes themselves.