The BoatU.S. Foundation's Free Online Boating Safety Course satisfies Mississippi's mandatory boating education requirement for all operators born after June 30, 1980.
You must PASS all seven lessons before November 18, 2019 in order to receive your certificate of completion. At that time, all incomplete courses will be deleted in order to move to a new system. All certificates of completion will transfer, but course data will not.
However, the BoatU.S. Foundation's course does not authorize persons under the age of 12 to operate a motorboat or PWC without a supervising adult on board in the state of Mississippi.
Order a plastic, wallet-sized Mississippi State Boater Card for $13. You can still print your certificate of completion free of charge OR you can order a plastic card for just $13 once you've completed the course. Please allow 3-4 weeks for the delivery of your plastic card.
For more information see this state's Mandatory Education and Age Requirements.
This NASBLA approved Boating Safety Course for Mississippi boaters covers everything from Navigation Aids and Emergency Situations to Rules of the Road and Required Equipment. Each of the seven chapters includes a quiz at the end for you to test your knowledge. After reviewing all chapters, you will take a 75 question final exam including 10 questions specific to the boating laws in Mississippi. Pass the exam with a score of 80% or better and you will then be able to print your certificate of completion.
Use the worksheets below as a guide to help you take notes as you go through each of the lessons. These worksheets are only meant as a guide and do not replace the course content or quizzes themselves.