The BoatU.S. Foundation's free Online Boating Safety course is approved to satisfy the Oklahoma state mandatory education requirement that all boaters 12 - 16 years of age must complete a NASBLA approved boating safety course in order to operate a boat or PWC with motor exceeding 10 hp or a sailboat longer than 16 ft on Oklahoma waters.
You must PASS all 7 lessons in order to receive your certificate of completion.
Successful completion of this course will not entitle boaters under the age of 12 to operate a vessel powered by a motor greater than 10 hp or a sailboat longer than 16 ft.
See state Mandatory Education and Age Requirements for more information.
Plastic boater education cards are now available to order for $13.
This NASBLA approved Boating Safety Course for Oklahoma boaters covers everything from Navigation Aids and Emergency Situations to Rules of the Road and Required Equipment. Each of the seven chapters includes a quiz at the end for you to test your knowledge. After reviewing all chapters, you will take a 75 question final exam including 10 questions specific to the boating laws in Oklahoma. Pass the exam with a score of 80% or better and you will then be able to print your certificate of completion.
Use the worksheets below as a guide to help you take notes as you go through each of the lessons. These worksheets are only meant as a guide and do not replace the course content or quizzes themselves.