The BoatU.S. Foundation's Free Online Boating Safety course is approved to satisfy the Oregon state mandatory education requirement that all boaters must complete a NASBLA approved boating safety course in order to operate a vessel powered by an engine greater than 10 hp.
Successful completion of this course will not entitle boaters under the age of 12 to operate a PWC or motorboat. Youth 12 - 15 years of age may not operate a vessel greater than 10 hp without adult supervision. See state Mandatory Education and Age Requirements for more information on age and horsepower restrictions.
After passing this course, boaters will need to purchase an Oregon Boater Education Card. This can be done in one of two ways (you do not need to purchase through this site AND the Oregon site also):
After you complete the course click the link that says Oregon on your MY ACCOUNT screen (will display below the calendar) and you will be given the option to purchase the card or print a copy yourself. If you select the option to have the card mailed to you, you will pay a fee of $11 (the $10 state fee + $1 for the transaction fees) and we will send your information and the state fee to the Oregon State Marine Board on your behalf. The Oregon State Marine Board will mail your card out to you. Please allow 2-3 weeks for delivery.
OR - You can purchase your card online through the Boat Oregon website for a fee of $10. View instructions for using the Boat Oregon system here and access the Boat Oregon website at www.BoatOregon.com. The Oregon State Marine Board WILL accept a photo or scanned copy of your printed temporary certificate as proof of course completion. Please allow 2-3 weeks for delivery.
PLEASE NOTE: If you have already taken an approved National Association of State Boating Law Administrators (NASBLA) boating education class, internet course, or challenge exam, you do not need to re-take the exam.
If you just need a replacement card, you do not need to re-rake the exam. Please contact the Oregon State Marine Board at (503) 378-8587 to verify if you have the permanent boater's education card and to order a replacement card.
Please note that the course servers reboot every day at 4:30AM Eastern Time (1:30AM Pacific) and during this time you may experience slow server response.
You must PASS all seven lessons before November 18, 2019 in order to receive your certificate of completion. At that time, all incomplete courses will be deleted in order to move to a new system. All certificates of completion will transfer, but course data will not.
This NASBLA approved Boating Safety Course for Oregon boaters covers everything from Navigation Aids and Emergency Situations to Rules of the Road and Required Equipment. Each of the seven chapters includes a quiz at the end for you to test your knowledge. After reviewing all chapters, you will take a 75 question final exam including 15 questions specific to the boating laws in Oregon. Pass the exam with a score of 80% or better and you will then be able to print your certificate of completion.
Use the worksheets below as a guide to help you take notes as you go through each of the lessons. These worksheets are only meant as a guide and do not replace the course content or quizzes themselves.