---As of 1/1/2020, the Texas course will require an $11 fee for completion. This fee is required by the state and no refunds or discounts are available. You must pay this fee by purchasing your temporary certificate of completion via emailed PDF. Your completion record will not be sent to the state unless you complete this step.---
The BoatU.S. Foundation's Free Online Course is approved to meet the Texas Mandatory Education Requirements for boaters born on or after September 1, 1993, and wish to operate any boat over 15 hp, any PWC or windblown vessels over 14 ft in length unaccompanied by an adult.
You must PASS all seven lessons in order to receive your certificate of completion.
Within 7-10 days of completing your course you will receive an email from the state of Texas with instructions for accessing and printing your official state certification card.
For more information see this state's Mandatory Education and Age Requirements.
If you need to reprint your Texas Boater Education Card, visit:https://tpwd.elementlms.com/hunterboater-education-verification/
This Boating Safety Course for Texas boaters covers everything from Navigation Aids and Emergency Situations to Rules of the Road and Required Equipment. Each of the six chapters includes a quiz at the end for you to test your knowledge. After reviewing all chapters, you will take a 75 question final exam including 10 questions specific to the boating laws in Texas. Pass the exam with a score of 80% or better and you will then be able to print your certificate of completion.
Use the worksheets below as a guide to help you take notes as you go through each of the lessons. These worksheets are only meant as a guide and do not replace the course content or quizzes themselves.