The BoatU.S. Foundation's Free Online Boating Safety Course satisfies mandatory boating education requirement that all operators born after December 31, 1986 must complete a NASBLA approved boating safety course in order to operate a powerboat or PWC in West Virginia.
You must PASS all seven lessons before November 18, 2019 in order to receive your certificate of completion. At that time, all incomplete courses will be deleted in order to move to a new system. All certificates of completion will transfer, but course data will not.
Passing this course will not entitle a person under the age of 12 to operate a PWC or a motorboat on West Virginia waters. Boaters 12 - 15 years of age may only operate when under the direct supervision of an adult.
For more information see the Mandatory Education and Age Requirements for this state.
Plastic boater education cards are now available to order for $13.
This NASBLA approved Boating Safety Course for West Virginia boaters covers everything from Navigation Aids and Emergency Situations to Rules of the Road and Required Equipment. Each of the seven chapters includes a quiz at the end for you to test your knowledge. After reviewing all chapters, you will take a 75 question final exam including 10 questions specific to the boating laws in West Virginia. Pass the exam with a score of 80% or better and you will then be able to print your certificate of completion.
Use the worksheets below as a guide to help you take notes as you go through each of the lessons. These worksheets are only meant as a guide and do not replace the course content or quizzes themselves.